CENTRAL UNIVERSITY OF HARYANA

Amendment/Addition in Statute 13 read with Section 22 (2), 26 (1) and Section 27 (2) of the Central Universities Act 2009

Statute relating to the constitution of the Academic Council and the term of office of its members (Ref. Statute 13 of the Statutes)

The Academic Council shall consist of the following persons, namely:

- i. Vice Chancellor- ex-officio Chairperson
- ii. Pro-Vice Chancellor
- iii. Deans of Schools of Studies:
- iv. Heads of the Departments of Studies;
- **v.** Four Professors, who are not Dean or Head by rotation according to seniority, adequately representing different Schools of Studies;
- vi. Six persons not in the service of the University on the recommendations of Academic Council for their special knowledge;
- vii. Four eminent persons from the field of Technology/Industry/Finance/Education to be nominated by the Vice Chancellor
- viii. Three members of the Court when constituted, elected from amongst the elected members, none of whom shall be an employee or student of the University or an Institution recognized by or associated with the University;
- ix. Three Associate Professors, who are not Dean or Head by rotation according to seniority, adequately representing different Schools of Studies;
- **x.** Two Assistant Professors, by rotation according to seniority, adequately representing different Schools of Studies;
- xi. Dean of Students Welfare
- xii. Proctor
- xiii. Librarian
- **xiv.** One Provost by rotation according to seniority
- xv. Two student representatives, to be nominated by the Vice Chancellor on merit basis, one from among the research scholars and the other from the post graduate students from the various Schools/Departments of the University on rotation basis. (The student members shall not be allowed to participate in discussions in respect of matters relating to Examinations, Selection Committees, appointments and conditions of service of the teaching staff.)
- xvi. Three representatives giving due attention to categories such as Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes/Other Backward Classes/Minorities/Women/Differently Abled

(to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor as serving or retired academicians from Institutions from Higher Education and Research.

All members of the Academic Council, other than Vice Chancellor, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Dean of Students Welfare, Proctor and Librarian shall hold office for a term of three years provided that the tenure of student members shall be one academic year.

"Half of the total members of the Academic Council excluding the Vice Chancellor shall make the quorum for the meeting of the Academic Council"